Introduction: Temurbek

Assalomu alaykum everyone! My name is Temurbek Sulaymonov and I am a sophomore majoring in International Affairs. I am from Tashkent, Uzbekistan. Back home, I studied in a boarding high school, and it was small, my graduation class size was only 24. So, I always wanted my college to be big enough to offer many different opportunities and chance to make connections, located not too far from a big city – and UC was a perfect match for me!

I was both excited and nervous coming here. Because it was my first-time leaving home to another country, so I did not really know what to expect. But now I understand that there was not really any reason to worry about. From my first day of campus orientation till now, I have been having a wonderful experience! I have learned some great things both inside and outside of classroom. I have joined some student organizations like Programs & Activities Council (PAC) and have organized some cool events on campus like Zipline & Ice-cream, Movie Night, Pumpkin Palooza and many more. I got a chance to work as a Student Orientation Leader last summer and helped to welcome new students to our beautiful campus. I went on a study tour to Iceland last winter break with some other students from my journalism class. I have been invited to give a presentation about my home country for several student clubs, which was one of my favorite things to do. UC has a big campus with different events happening all the time, so you will never get bored.

I am extremely excited to be an International Student Ambassador and share more about my experience here at UC!


Leave a comment